, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by metawhy

metawhy Was my first show since Bend 2015. Was that a loud show last night? Is that the new normal? I'm wearing ear protection tonight. Maybe I'm just old now. Trey was really going for it in DWD and TWIST. Really out there stuff that didn't quite gel into something amazing (like 8-31-21 Stash) but I still love how Trey really stretches the band into new and weird spaces. It's why I see Phish. It won't work 100% of the time, but it is why I keep coming back to listen. The show was very high energy, even the slow songs like Leaves (which had great placement) had a raging ending to them. It was like guitar god Trey was in the house. My favorite moment was when 2001 got slow and Trey's tone got really low. I didn't see how they could go back to 2001 and it was just an amazing full band exploration. Also, Mike cannot be heard as clearly as earlier tours. Phish sound guy please fix this.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by metawhy

metawhy Was my first show since Bend 2015. Was that a loud show last night? Is that the new normal? I'm wearing ear protection tonight. Maybe I'm just old now. Trey was really going for it in DWD and TWIST. Really out there stuff that didn't quite gel into something amazing (like 8-31-21 Stash) but I still love how Trey really stretches the band into new and weird spaces. It's why I see Phish. It won't work 100% of the time, but it is why I keep coming back to listen. The show was very high energy, even the slow songs like Leaves (which had great placement) had a raging ending to them. It was like guitar god Trey was in the house. My favorite moment was when 2001 got slow and Trey's tone got really low. I didn't see how they could go back to 2001 and it was just an amazing full band exploration. Also, Mike cannot be heard as clearly as earlier tours. Phish sound guy please fix this.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by c_wallob

c_wallob I would describe 10/19/2021 as the not the show we wanted, but the show we needed. The vibe was spectacular in the venue, with everyone looking to heal from the tragedies in SF, and then Trey got up there and perfectly summed up what most of us are feeling. I know that the SF stories are far from over, but I - for one - feel that I'm ready to enjoy the rest of tour without the cloud hanging over us. I know that people get hurt, OD, and unfortunately pass away more frequently on tour than most of us know. But the way that things transpired in SF, coupled with this period of National sorrow and death that we are are trying to emerge from, made it particularly upsetting. Anyways - about the music. I really wouldn't change anything about the first set. This was the first DWD of 4.0 that delivered an extended jam, Jim was a solid Set 1 version, Ocelot had a very nice Type 1 jam, Rift, Horn > Ya Mar was a great song-based segment, Stash delivered a really pretty extended Type 2 jam, Trey gave a 5-star speech, and Walls brought the set home with great energy. For a "normal" first-set from a setlist perspective, I would give this first set about 4.5 out of 5 stars. Set 2 started off with a lot of promise. Twist started at a slow, swampy pace, giving way to a crunchy groove reminiscent of the 4.0-style jamming. Blaze On was a terrific choice for the second slot, and the jam started with tremendous promise. Then, it seemed like Mike and Fish pulled the ripcord into Plasma. I didn't even hear Trey punching that staccato rhythm before Fish started that unmistakable drumbeat. I love Plasma, but since Providence 2019, I feel it's gotten more than its fair share of play. I would have been perfectly happy if we got a monster version of Plasma, but this sub-7 minute version was a bit of a letdown. Leaves was VERY well played - probably my favorite live version yet. I really didn't think that I Never Left Home would be a good addition to the Phish live catalog, and after 1 performance I feel that thought was accurate. I like Sparkle more than most, but prefer it as a Set 1 ditty. 2001 was the best version I've seen in a while, but I wished that they would have just finished it and closed the set out on that note. Sigma Oasis is still trying to find its place in the setlist. Is it an opener? Jam vehicle? Set closer? I know that this song is going to be in our world for a while, and I hope they figure out its place. I don't think Set 2 closer is it. Although it started with great promise and included a super 2001, I'd say this set is in the 3.4 to 3.6 star range. DWYS was exactly the encore I hoped they'd play. A lot of love was released during the refrain of that song. Everyone in the room was on their feet with their hands in the air, shouting "And LOVE will carry us through" at the top of their lungs. What an amazing sight. I'm getting goosebumps just thinking about that moment again. In the context of THIS tour, being in the room, and the show that I wanted tonight, I'd give this show a 4.8 out of 5 stars. In the context of the broader catalog of live phish shows, I'd put this show at 3.8 out of 5 stars, mostly due to the middle third of the second set.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by DrJerryPunchYITE

DrJerryPunchYITE Funny thing 2021 phish has done to us. If they're not playing 4 song second sets or insert songs you don't think should be played its a 2 star show. Lol same as it ever was! Not the best show of the year but an average/great show with 4 really good renditions, some tour firsts, a debut and a very classy conversation about the San Fran tragedy.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 Definitely a sort of "breather" show from the absolute setlist and improvisational insanity that was the San Francisco weekend, but nonetheless pulled its own weight quite well. Ripping out of the gates with a 25-minute Disease is a good indicator of this, and honestly a return to some pedestrian first-set classics is a nice refresher after a murderer's row of improv. Keeps things interesting. Stash again was impressive, 2021 is no doubt an MVP year for Stash. Trey addressed the tragedy from Sunday night after Stash. No four song second set tonight, but that's perfectly fine. Twist was very good, and the first time they've stretched out that song this year I believe. A handful of standard renditions of Blaze On, Plasma, Leaves, and Sparkle, throw in a[i] Lonely Trip[/i] debut, a killer 2001 and finally Sigma to close and you have a nicely-played second set format that looks pretty familiar to all the Set 2's in Atlantic City: a heavy hitter opener, some standard runthroughs of songs, maybe another jam or two, and a nice closer. I've seen some debate about a Drift encore, but for me it's a feel good sendoff to a pretty good show.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves 1st set was pure smoking hot flames. Incredible versions of Disease (longest show opener of all time!) and Stash. 2nd set had a good not amazing beginning but then was completely ruined by that Sparkle placement. Truly awful. The 2001 that followed was very, VERY good but they didn't really seem to know how to end it and Sigma just abruptly started. Very weird set, but it wasn't awful or anything. Definitely listen to 2001 and the Blaze On -> Plasma, maybe Twist as well. I'd probably put this above Sacramento just because of the massive titans in the 1st set, but that might change because I feel like Sacramento will have more replay value over the years. Better luck next time.
, attached to 2021-10-19

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam First set was good, and the start to the 2nd set was good (Twist was sick) .... however the 2nd set does fall apart here imo... we did not need more plasma, and what the heck is that sparkle doing here.... 2001 could not save this set. Also I like drift but its a pretty deflating encore. Going to give this show 3 stars but its not far from 2 stars. They all cant be amazing pholks
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by Gumbo72203

Gumbo72203 Unfinished 46 Days! First set is great. Possum has an extra cycle through the changes because Trey wasn't done. Love it. Fishman's drums during this last cycle sounded almost death metal, crazy playing. Everyone talking about Frankie Says, I would just like to point you to my favorite version of the song - 10/29/98. This is perhaps the best AUD tape I've ever heard. An intimate outdoor venue with the best sound in the world, and this may be the best AUD pull of any tape I've ever heard. It's truly spectacular. Please take some time and give it a listen. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nuAUJ8mYrjQ
, attached to 2021-10-17

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog Musically speaking, that was everything I'd want in a show. Different placements, everything with the gas, first set and second. From the very beginning - it was extremely well done. BOTT through Destiny - all punch above the usual. Maze and Destiny especially since the reunion in '09. Reba - great jam - technically nailed. Second set: Evolve - the best (IMO) Trey song during quarantine. Been waiting to play it again. Nailed it in a softer arrangement. SYSF - insane. must listen. what the fuck? Wingsuit - again, strictly musically speaking, very good version, lots of time taken to develop, lots of confidence, tight from all members. maybe the best version i've ever heard. chalk dust - insane. must listen x2. hose single digit times there's been two 20-minute jams in one phish show since 3.0. this is one of them. first 4 song second set since - depending on who you ask, 12/30/19 or all the way back to 6/20/2004 - what a time to be alive am i right. jesus. how lucky are those of us to be going to eugene tuesday and wednesday. we have a lot to look forward to. please reach out if you even slightly feel the need.
, attached to 2009-06-05

Review by HarpuaTheBulldog

HarpuaTheBulldog On the Ya Mar, Trey changes the lyrics around 3:00 to "He was Mike's Grandpa" and then later in the song he says "Mike's gonna play one for his grandpa now!" before Mike teases How Far Is Heaven from The Los Lonely Boys. Link can be found here (https://youtu.be/1X5Sxf6_ZcE?t=180), nice little Easter egg in tribute to Mike's IRL grandfather who passed away a few weeks prior. If you remember the Ya Mar origin story, Mike was on vacation with his grandparents in the Caribbean when he heard the original version by Cyril Ferguson for the first time, so that's a doubly nice little tribute there.
, attached to 2021-10-17

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 Song placement continues to be unique, a Bug opener really shakes things up, plus it's always nice to hear. Really refreshing to see that continue. First set itself was well played. And then there's set two. What on earth is even happening? Phish coming out and playing four song second sets? The last time Phish threw down a four song second set was 6/20/2004. With two monster jams? Just incredible stuff. Absolutely mind-blowing that the band is doing this 38 years into their career. They also played Evolve again, my favorite Lonely Trip song and I'm glad it's (hopefully) here to stay. And RIP to the guy that died last night, super tragic, heart goes out to him.
, attached to 1988-08-04

Review by thelot

thelot Another solid night of music in Colorado. There was a Gamehendge theme sprinkled throughout the night which Trey continuously points out. Most songs are also introduced which isn’t typical. Unfortunately there are two harsh cuts that are lost to Phishtory, first is the cut during the debut of Poor Heart. It cuts in midway through during what appears to be a composed middle section. Poor Heart was introduced at the Earth Day Fest on 4/22 as “The Four-Track Song”. Not sure if it was debuted prior to Telluride but this is the first known recording. The other cut takes place at the beginning of Tela. Prior to Tela Trey let’s Tim Rodgers choose the next number. Not sure what Tim’s pick was but it wasn’t Tela. After hearing his choice Trey says “he’s so predictable” “you lose Tim!” lol Highlights: Poor Heart, David Bowie, Curtain>Wilson, Antelope
, attached to 2021-10-17

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves Bay Area got 4 5-star shows in 1 year, eh. That's something not even New York has done, and they get a shot at it almost every damn year. First things first. Jon Fishman played his goddamn ass off the whole show. Especially set 1, where songs like My Soul got all sorts of energy. Maze, Steam, and Reba are the big highlights from set 1. Maze rivals Alpharetta 's version (what a great year for Maze), Steam is GOAT contender (probably still give it to 12/30/17, thought) and the Reba was out of this world. 8/6/21 was Summer's double creature feature, and now 10/17/21 is Fall's double creature feature. Two ginormous jams that explore every style under the sun. The Wolfman's encore kicked unholy amounts of ass as well. What a band. If they top this later this year, then they probably turned into something not human during the pandemic.
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Tour opener with little rust, and a loose, unpredictable feel in the setlist. Unfortunately, it never really materializes into anything worth obsessing over. I think the highlights were Corinna, Mercury, Sand. You can probably skip through alot of the rest. We should expect tour openers to be not as amazing, and rightfully so. 3 stars
, attached to 2021-10-17

Review by DownWithSteam

DownWithSteam Couch toured this one, loved the Bug opener honestly, its such a great song. Rest of the first set was tight, probably best first set of the 3 shows so far - shoutout to that Steam. Second set on Paper, looks pretty suspect. Evolve was fine, but things get taken up a notch in this Set Your Soul Free, which has a sick, darker jam going on. Sets an interesting mood, it was at least 25 mins long, maybe a contender for best version ever, a must listen for all of you. After that sweet jam, we get wingsuit and yes, people hate this one often, and it was not placed well. Put a bit of a damper on the set, but was still played pretty flawlessly, so if you're a wingsuit fan I bet you were having a good time. Then we get the set wrapped up with a monstrous chalk dust and just like that, only 4 songs but I think I was satisfied. Encore a lawn boy, who could complain about that? And a pretty trippy wolfmans to send us home. Slightly above average show here tonight, check out Steam, SYSF, Chalkdust, Wolfman's! Also RIP to the person who died tonight at the show during Destiny. Tough scene im sure for all involved. We will get by.
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by Uncle_Ebeneeezr

Uncle_Ebeneeezr Total banger of a show. I was there on the floor at Chase. This was a special show. First set started with one great tune after another. Possum opener set the tone, and really those first six songs up until Shade had the crowd fired up. Slave mid-first set (!), and incredible peaking energy throughout. Great Antelope to close the set. Second set continued the magic, and then on top of all that, a wild jammy 19-minute Carini as an encore??? Def give this one a listen. Thank you, Phish!
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by thewiz

thewiz Truly incredible that they’re playing at this level two shows into the tour. I kept thinking that I was hearing teases during improvised sections because the jamming was so good and sounded composed. Too many highlights to even note (loved the jammed Frankie Says, one of the most underrated and unappreciated of their songs). The Carini blew the roof off the place and the playing was tight and fast all around. When do they ever even do that in an encore? Very different energy than Sacramento, even though SF was a bigger venue, felt more intimate because it was crowded. The house seemed packed but I couldn’t even give away a mail order floor outside the venue, there were tickets all over the e-scooters littering the sidewalk. Super well run venue with no lines anywhere for anything. Can’t wait for tonight.
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by Phishtopia

Phishtopia Magnificent playing in an incredible show. Winterqueen has hints of Beneath the Sea of Stars and Ocelot woven into it. Frankie Says is a nice bust out with a superb jam to follow. Stay and listen all the way to the end where the Carini-Mothership enters the atmosphere bathing everyone in its warm light only to rocket into the heavens and the cosmos.
, attached to 2021-10-16

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves WOW. Just, WOW. Instant classic, without a doubt. Probably my show of the year. 46 Days -> Slave makes you feel like you're on a cloud. Simple and Frankie Says (first Type 2 in 18 years!) are an unimaginable dance party. Type 1 highlights abound with Possum, Antelope, and Moma. But without a doubt, the highlight of the show is that goddamn encore Carini. Absolutely trumps everything else played in the tour so far, and probably a Top 10 Carini ever. Highlights: honestly, do not skip a SINGLE song in this show. you will not regret it one bit.
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 Rather interesting tour opener. It's almost as if the band chose to warm up for tour by choosing the most random songs to put in places nobody'd expected them to be. That pretty much killed any sense of flow this show had but that's not a bad thing, it kept things entertaining and fun. Mercury was excellent, as was the unfinished Tube. Not too bad!
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by mgolia6

mgolia6 Last minute decision to stream this show knowing the determination it takes to stay on West Coast show time from Alabama. Glad I made the decision. I kept having this sneaking suspicion I was catching a show in reverse. But not quite. The elements of the first set stayed somewhat the same while the song selection was certainly not all first set material. The theory kinda fizzles in set two and what it lacked in my neatly wrapped theory it more than made up for in exploration and heat. And so to bed was the theme of set two for this humble narrator. Weaving in and out of sleep and landing neatly in improvisational sections, this set truly felt mercurial; owing mostly likely to my Rip van winkling. An unfinished Tube is a clear indicator of this shows prowess. Mahalo, Matthew
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by Kriddaz

Kriddaz Glad I made the trek from Eugene this morning. A loose, fun show. Just walked out of the venue. Free was rock solid. Piper was pipin’ hot. My first Mercury, loved it. And so to Bed was beautiful and who woulda guessed Brother? Excellent choice with Corrina and I enjoyed the first set Hood. Army of One and Coil gave Page a chance to warm up the vocals. This was my first indoor show since 2019 and it was good to be back!
, attached to 2021-10-15

Review by RubyWaves

RubyWaves If you hated this show I wouldn't argue with you If you loved this show I wouldn't argue with you That's just what Sacramento 2021 is. Absolutely beautiful mess of a show we have here. Highlights are Hood, Mercury, Plasma, Piper, And So To Bed (they played fucking And So To Bed?), Tube -> Brother (but not the segue, jesus christ), and Sand.
, attached to 2021-08-29

Review by InsectEffect

InsectEffect 1st set highlights: How Many People > Gin > Back on the Train, the latter of which is a miniature wind-up jam so tight that it was deemed worthy of official video release. Then My Friend and Rift both bring a uniquely Phishy menace that’s oddly perfect for the middle-of-nowhere Gorge. 2nd set: The jam out of Mr. Completely is textured and fluid but ultimately somewhat meandering, perhaps because the rest of the band does little more that lay a canvas for Trey to paint on. There’s a deft nod to Friday’s Camel Walk before an absolutely butter segue into Meat, which is flame-broiled and full of flavor. Pregnant pause before a similarly-energetic Xeyed that Trey soon tries to take back into Mr. Completely. His bandmates (Fishman) resist, and instead there’s another effortless and surprising segue, this time into a raging Saw It Again. Head’s up to all the “Let Fishman Sing” people out there—this is your set right here. Trey seems to organically discover Mango Song’s lick amidst his trills, and the whole band then patiently transitions. It’s a beautiful call, full of light and levity after the manic dark that precedes. Everything's Right tries to keep this momentum and then flirts with more darkness before giving way to Sea of Stars—a tune, to my ears, whose lyrics are undermined by a strangely slow and somber tone. But out there at The Gorge, with Trey calling for lights out, it offered a really lovely reflective moment. Your mileage may vary on re-listen, though. Then Always Wanted It comes swirling in and… seriously, what is this song? Dad Disco? Fortunately Trey has a riff to work with, and soon steers the tune into an Xeyed-inflected Mr. Completely reprise that very nicely bookends the set and damn-near qualifies for a proper segue. A great encore brings this gorgeous weekend to a close, one that saw an abundance of patient, spacious playing, unique and dynamic sets, and music momentously amplified by the magic of The Gorge’s incredible natural setting.
, attached to 2021-08-28

Review by InsectEffect

InsectEffect Highlights of this strong 1st set include the rockin’ opening trio and a twilight Swept Away > Steep to follow Divided Sky in absolutely perfect-for-The-Gorge fashion. The 2nd set is well-balanced but perhaps doesn’t exceed the sum of its parts. As with Friday’s Set II, there’s a light-and-dark dynamic here, with Mountains in the Mist and Bug providing reflective counterpoints to the up-tempo excursions. Both tunes share some DNA with Lifeboy (perfectly placed on Friday), so there seems to be a continued theme, though I think Friday’s was a much more successful (read: remarkable) set. Saturday’s centerpiece is a nearly 18-minute Scents and Subtle Sounds (complete with intro), which expands to welcome in The Gorge’s spacious landscape. About 10 minutes in, Trey deploys a certain electronic effect that dominates the sonic palette for several minutes, and while I recall enjoying it live, it strikes me an odd choice that doesn’t work so well on re-listen. Still, the jam soars again before a measured slide into Bug. Set-closer Possum rips in fine marsupial style. It was nice to hear rarity Bittersweet Motel, but the encore made for a somewhat odd jumble of tunes. Overall average-great Phish on this fine Saturday night at The Gorge.
, attached to 2021-08-27

Review by InsectEffect

InsectEffect 1st set highlights: Torn and Frayed; a time-warping, get-your-money’s-worth Melt; a tight Tube with Super Bad jam (no mere tease here); and a stand-out Mull proving that this cool new Mike tune has serious jam potential, as Trey clearly discovers with some sick riffing. The entire 2nd set is unique and exceptional. Whatever you think of Sigma Oasis (the jury’s still out for me), the song’s “you’re already there” refrain nicely sets the stage before the band descends into an astonishing What’s the Use? Heavy and cathartic, stirring and serene, this WTU offers a profound release into and return from the void, one that welcomes the very spaciousness and silence of the landscape into the music. You can hear it in the recording, a hushed audience standing awed out there in a little oasis in the wild. What to do after such a deep plunge? We gather ourselves back together and blaze on… Blaze On rips and roils, with Trey recalling his Mull riffing around the 8-minute mark. The song then slows for a silky segue into Lifeboy, which offers another deep, reflective descent into our collective heart center. If this set’s Blaze On is an affirmation, Camel Walk is a celebration. This jammed-out Camel is just fantastic. The song itself is Super Bad-inflected for extra funk, with a clear tease at 5:05, and the jam includes a string of WTU callbacks beginning at 10:50, elevating the set’s deeper themes. A funk-strut Chalk Dust carries the celebratory torch further, with syrupy phrasing and a no-fireworks approach that’s all patient workmanship and clockwork groove. The music then takes a delicate turn before a long smooth segue into Slave. This song has closed a lot of sets, and can sometimes feel perfunctory, but not here. Fresh and vivid, with understated phrasing, this Slave brings the set’s reflective WTU-Lifeboy thread to a powerful resolution. The GOTF songs are a little too on the nose for me, but this Drift encore is well-earned and worked fine live. Overall, just wow. This set functions as a remarkable compositional whole, an extended meditation on the ebb-and-flow, light-and-dark nature of existence. It’s a trip in the very best sense, into the abyss and back again. It’s also (Camel Walk) a lot of fun. Attendance bias? Oh for sure. This show, at The Gorge? Boy, man. God, shit…
, attached to 2021-08-11

Review by SplitOpenAndMalt

SplitOpenAndMalt Night two was a fun one. After recovering from the late-night partying the night prior, me and my buddy hit Hersheypark durinig a scorching hot day that was interrupted by the incoming rain. We met up with a few of our other buddies in the park and took shelter in our car before it started downpouring. When it subsided, it was showtime and the group of the six of us headed into the venue. Definitely did not have a You Sexy Thing opener predicted but it definitely let us know that we were in for a funky night. I can't hear Wombat without thinking about Abe Vigoda coming out on Halloween but it's a perfect balance between a light, fun song and an impressive jam instrument. At about three minutes, a nice jam session led by Trey took off. The vocal fusion between 'Wombat' and 'You Sexy Thing' was absolutely awesome-- if you'd had told me these two songs would lift the crowd's vibes beyond the extent of N1 S2 before the show, I would've thought you were crazy. Free's an awesome tune generally, and about four minutes in, they start to let loose on a funky jam that Mike sounds really defined in. I'm not a big ASIHTOS fan, but Trey takes off in this one too at about 2:30 in-- what a start to a jamming first set! Near the end of the jam I was sure that they were going to go into Sand, but instead, they went into my highlight of Summer Tour's first set, a blazing Halley's Comet. At 4:55 the band lifts off and Trey and Page are obviously locked-in, in sync right now. The jam gets really experimental and departs from the theme after a few more minutes thanks to Fish's control of pace. Lonely Trip gave the band a chance to cool down, but it was definitely nice hearing some stuff from Quarantine Trey. Gotta Jibboo even gave Trey some time to jam out for a little bit as they built up to close the set strong. Meat gave us another callback to You Sexy Thing and this is one of my favorite songs that you can hear all four of their vocals on. Maze is a sweet ass closer as well, and this is a pretty traditional one to close out one of the most jammed out first sets I've seen. Trey gives us one last 'You Sexy.... Thing!' before heading back for break. Set two we got up to maybe five rows back, right at center stage. The sun set and the guys come back with Theme. I thought that they were going to absolutely bust it open after Trey started scaling succeeding the vocal section, but they wrap it up pretty nicely to give us a concise warmup jam. The BOAF, though, is a whole different story. They essentially immediately jump into heavy riffing before fully departing the atmosphere-- I saw the '19 BOAF at Blossom and, while less deep and spacey, this was a substantially more chronological jam that continued to build on the feel of the band. Each of the four members had no trouble feeding off of eachother and nobody hesitated to give another member lead for a few minutes-- the 4.0 guitar sounds great in this one. On Instagram before N1, Mike showed a picture of a butterfly on his mic, and me and my buddy guessed that Bug was gonna make its appearance in Hershey-- here it is. Page has just generally sounded really good tonight, kind of a mystical feel to the keys. To build off this lightheartedness, the band segues into Light. The vocal section leads into a contemporary, alternative, smooth jam for about five minutes that almost fully engulfs Party Time and its succeeding jam as well. Ruby Waves is the other monster jam in this set, getting right into it and getting much darker than this set's complementing jams. This jam is high-paced and definitely worth a listen (definitely not an Alpine Ruby Waves but a solid version nonetheless). Chalk Dust was used as the culminating point of the set to burn off the remaining energy prior to encore. Show of Life into SANTOS couldn't be any more opposite end of the spectrum, but, at the end of SANTOS, everyone was high-fiving eachother and the energy in the place was palpable. What a fun show-- everyone was on (CK5's rig looked absolutely unbelievable) and this was easily the better night of the two. Probably a 4/5 given the tour's relative performance, definitely earning some replays in my book.
, attached to 1988-08-03

Review by thelot

thelot Unfortunately there’s very little from this show to review. I would imagine the band was psyched to expose their sound to a packed house, apparently the only show that had a decent turnout during their time in Colorado. The true highlight from what circulates is this Mike’s Song! Great early version here. Somewhat strange they decided not to include Weekapaug. This would make for nice archival release someday!
, attached to 2021-08-10

Review by SplitOpenAndMalt

SplitOpenAndMalt Made the venture out to Hershey after the three night run at Deer Creek and cannot say I was disappointed. The venue was open and spacious, it was super accessible to party anywhere on the floor or in the stands. After a torrential downpour, the double rainbow above the Pennsylvania sky set the stage for an awesome night of music. My group settled maybe forty yards back from the stage and had quite a bit of space to ourselves, even that up close. They came out with a heater of an opener with First Tube-- definitely my favorite opener that I've heard so far, the perfect fusion between a jammed-out fan favorite and an aggressive, up-tempo tune to set the stage for the night. Following it up with Axilla just felt natural (after a few nights of calmer and more joyous first sets, the guys are coming out hot!) and it was evident that the remainder of the set was going to follow the same tone. They dive into their first major jam segment of the night with a nice Type I Fuego-- this song has definitely grown on me and listening to Fish set the stage for Trey and Page to feed off of each other's culminating energy in this version in particular has led me back through the vault of Fuego's past. The succeeding Jim started an abbreviated jam portion around four minutes into the song, and Mike really guides this jam-- this one had the chance to go deep for a little bit before Trey ripcords the main chords to the tune for an awesome peak at 7:45 in. Gumbo is a favorite of mine, too (thanks A Live One!), and it was awesome hearing Trey try and vocode it a scale higher than normal. Sample served as the set's halfway point before breaking out into a traditional version of Steam, which felt especially right given the post-rain humidity in the stadium. Sugar Shack was the first tune I didn't recognize (obviously need to study up on my Baker's Dozen) but I was glad to hear them play an ode to the town of Hershey. Then, wow, what a FAST Llama-- definitely immediately brought a lot of energy back to the field. The progression from that to DDHVL kept the energy immediately high and this is where Page really goes to work. What can I say, I'm a sucker for the synth. And the Antelope closer was absolutely perfect to round out the set-- maybe one of my preferred first sets of the tour. Set break ended and the opener of NMINML got really spacey within the first five minutes-- this is a multi-element jam that kind of slid under the table and Trey's new rig sounds really nice here. The jam got slightly dark before ending and beginning Soul Planet. I'm not a big Soul Planet guy, but it was nice to hear an up-tempo and fun jam this set as well. I would've preferred to hear NICU in the first set but the song was definitely on par with the feel of the beginning of the set. In a complete change of pace, the band slows down with Joy before jumping into one of the highlights of this second set, Scent of A Mule. As always, the build-up from the silence right before the vocals kick back in was awesome to hear. Golden Age served as a 'regroup' song and Page sounded really good during the last few minutes. Prince Caspian and BDTNL both returned to the 'Joy' feel, giving the set, in totality, a really emotional feel. The Lizards was, without a doubt, the highlight of my show. It was my first time seeing this one played live, and, while I was always fond of Trey's solo at the end, I didn't realize how you could literally hear a pin drop in the venue. It was a surreal experience. Character Zero emphatically rounded out a set that was kinda all over the place. Before the show, my buddy called a Rock and Roll encore-- it was awesome when they actually busted it out! Page gave us a fun way to close out N1. The show was a little all over the place at times, but, individually, most of the songs were played pretty nicely. Probably a 3.5/5.
, attached to 1988-07-30

Review by thelot

thelot This is a very special night in Phishtory! The band certainly makes lemonade out of lemons the first half of the evening. While Trey is no Fishman he was a fine substitute. The banter throughout this show is absolutely priceless! Really the only negative thing that can be said about this recording is the handful of cuts throughout, most notably in Antelope. Luckily Colorado ‘88 shares some of the missing pieces. It makes me wonder what other treasures are in the archive from this run….Is 7/28 available or was that show not recorded at all? Thank goodness these shows were captured for all to enjoy for years to come! Side Note: Mike teases Moby Dick after All Blues
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2021  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by Linode